Best Brunch Stops in Leeds

I’d say brunch is my favourite meal of the day, but in fact every meal is my favourite. I’m a huge foodie. There’s something just lovely about having a lie in followed by eating a delicious breakfast acceptably late though.

Brunch was not a meal I ate often before coming to uni. I was stuck in a tiny village back home unable to drive and commuter buses leaving only at 7am (which kind of defeats the whole point of brunch). I only every really ate dinner out, but oh boy I’d been missing out. So having had many brunch adventures in Leeds, here, in no particular order, are my top four brunch stops.

 

1. Whites Cafe, Headingley

I’ve written about Whites in one of my posts before (you can check it out here), but Whites really is the ideal brunch spot. Tucked away in Headingley in North Leeds a couple of miles from the city centre this little independent cafe is idyllic. The food is cheap yet delicious, service is great, and they serve their breakfast menu until 4pm, so if you’re feeling ultra lazy or just fancy some eggs and a cuppa at 3pm, this is the place for you. I’d also recommend the B.E.L.T.A. What is that? Bacon, eggs, lettuce, tomato and avocado on sourdough. Do I need to say more?

You can check out their menu here. 

 

 

2. Bills, Leeds City Centre

img_3155Okay, Bills restaurants are everywhere, but that doesn’t make their brunch any less fantastic. Pancakes to avocados and eggs and bacon, or even just a saucy sausage sandwich  Bills will have something to make you smile. They also do delicious freshly squeezed fruit juices (I’d highly recommend the watermelon, peach and raspberry flavour) and hot chocs with lashings of whipped cream. It really is the dream. If it’s a sunny day, take a seat outside and people watch (my second favourite habit, after eating brunch). Check out their current breakfast menu here.

 

img_26343. Ms Atha’s, Leeds City Centre

If the cutest chinaware and loose tea leaves wasn’t enough, this tiny little cafe tucked away by the Corn Exchange really knows how to do brunch.

I’ve only eaten here once and recently, but I was not disappointed! Being a smoked salmon lover I opted for the eggs royale. My friend kept it simple with a bacon and egg sandwich and as scrumptious as mine was, I was slightly jealous.

Their menu isn’t available online, only written on the chalk board above their counter, but you can check their website for opening times out here.

 

4. Hatties, Headingley

Okay, okay, I know I raved about this little place in my last blog post, but I thought it needed another shout out. The food and service here was amazing, the place having an incredibly chilled out and cutesy feel, and you immediately feel at home. If you ask me, I’d say order something on toast because the bread is magical, and they aren’t tight on providing mountains of toppings. Once you’ve gulped down your scrum-diddly-umtious brunch, if there’s any space left be sure to order a freakshake. You won’t regret it (okay, you might when you can’t move afterwards, but it’s worth it).

Here’s their menu. and again breakfast is served all day. Yes, your lazy Sunday has just become lazier.

 

Leave a Reply

