Cambridge: Touring My Home Town 

I have lived in Cambridgeshire my whole life before coming to university in Leeds. And while Cambridge is a very famous, historical and beautiful city, I can’t say I ever really noticed. It’s so easy to miss what’s right under our noses.

On a trip back from from Leeds and dreading being bored back home, I decided it was about time to see what all the fuss is about. I became a Cambridge tourist for the day. And what I found did not disappoint.

First stop took us to the university colleges. And the buildings are outstanding and beautifully intricate, each surrounded by greenery and only minutes from the city centre – how did I never notice them?

With Kings College being one of the most popular and spectacular, we decided to take a look inside the Chapel. I’m still undecided on whether the delicately carved interior was more stunning than an the outside view; the late Gothic architecture is striking. Your eyes wonder immediately to the brightly stained glass windows before gazing upwards to the fan vaulted ceiling. So much history is held in the Chapel, it’s definitely worth a visit.

img_4882After prising our mesmerised eyes away from the Chapel and wondering the grounds of a few other colleges, we walked to the Backs; a stretch of picturesque land next to the River Cam which the colleges back on to. The river was full of punters (obviously, it’s Cambridge) and each little garden was just as pretty as the next. A multitude of bridges crossed over the river one by one and gave postcard-worthy views. I suddenly realised how pretty my little city was.

After one last stop for ice cream (come on, it’s me, food was obviously involved somewhere) and a quick trip round the markets (another great stop for foodies) and our day was almost up. I may have still not seen half the gems that Cambridge has to offer, but with the history, architecture and beauty I’ve come to the conclusion that Cambridge is actually alright. Okay, Cambridge is lovely. I just never appreciated it before.

 

img_4864

 

2 thoughts on “Cambridge: Touring My Home Town 

  1. bexoxo says:

    Cambridge was the last stop on my recent visit to England. My Fella grew up there as well, so he wanted to show me around. Out of all the cities we visited on our trip (which were quite a few!), Cambridge was one of my favorites. Everywhere you go, everywhere you look, its so picturesque. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

