Exploring York: An Afternoon In The City

There are two things I would like to say about York. Number one: the fudge is amazing. Eat and buy as much as you can because there’s none other quite like it (it lasts a good few months, I asked). Number two: I think I could live in York.

Having never been to York before, yet it only being about a twenty-minute drive from Leeds, last week I took the venture north and spent the day in the city. First thoughts were how much it reminded me of home. Not Leeds home. Home home. Back in Cambridge. It was very olde-worlde with little narrow streets and the river running through the centre. Picturesque.

Luckily for me a good friend of mine lives in York who gave me a private tour of the city. And her being my friend she knew exactly where to take me; first stop: ice cream. We went to this tiny little place by the Minster called La Cremeria. It was a little hole in the wall and if it wasn’t for her I’d have probably walked straight past, but thank goodness she knew of this hidden gem. The ice cream was all homemade and luxuriously thick and creamy. If you can ever find it, go! Feeling adventurous I opted for a rhubarb and ginger sorbet; refreshing and delicious.

Next stop? Yep, for food again. This time fudge. Oh the fudge! (I feel like I’m fangirling the food way too much; I’ll try to calm down). But seriously go to Roly’s Fudge Pantry. And if you do, please pick me up some more. The smell when you walk into the shop – if you can get your foot in the door that is, it was clearly very popular – is so sickly sweet you can already taste it. It’s a trap really; one step inside and there’s no way you’ll be leaving empty handed. I ended up going halves on a sampler bag with all fifteen (give or take) flavours. Strawberries and champagne was my personal fav (got to stay classy). I ended up taking the rest of what we couldn’t eat home with me, and I’m kind of hoping my friend has forgotten about it because I’ve since eaten it all. Oops.

By this point, both having made ourselves nearly sick and with such a sugar rush that we needed some form of exercise, we started to walk to city walls. In hindsight, I probably should have researched York more before going; I had no idea there were even walls around the city! Turns out they are the longest medieval town walls left in England and a ‘must do’ if you visit York. And I can understand why. It’s amazing how well preserved they are. Literally like walking along a little piece of history.

Our final stop was Clifford’s Tower; a little round castle on top of a little round hill. It was quite funny seeing it sitting there actually. It looked so out of place. This perfectly round castle on this perfectly domed hill next to a car park, a busy road and a merry-go-round. Bizarre. However, the top of the castle gave gorgeous panoramic views of the city for a mere £5 entry fee (plus student discount, eh up!). While you’re in there as well, please, please, please visit the gift shop. No, not to buy anything you don’t really want, but to sample their wine. I’m not even a huge wine drinker, but their ginger wine is fab.

After my whistle-stop tour of York, back to Leeds I came. Sadly, my over-indulgent, sickly sweet, history filled day was up and I was shoved back into reality, five minutes late for work and on my sugar come-down. I guess we can’t have it all! But my little adventure made me realise how few parts of England I’ve actually seen and I’m now in desperate need to explore more (and scope out all the best fudge).

So, York, until next time.

 

ENJOYED THIS POST? LIKE MY POST AND LEAVE A COMMENT BELOW TO LET ME KNOW YOUR THOUGHTS. BE SURE TO CHECK OUT MY OTHER RELATED POSTS TOO BY CLICKING ON A RELATED CATEGORY.
14 thoughts on “Exploring York: An Afternoon In The City

  1. inkedautist says:

    I’m just a Yank but I long to visit York. As a change ringer it is my hope to one day be able to ring the bells at the Minster. I don’t know if I’m brave enough to turn the 59 cwt tenor bell but I’ll ring a lighter one. 😛

    Nice pics by the way.

    Like

  2. Viral T. says:

    I visited York and Whitby whilst studying abroad in Wales in 2011. I really liked the beach and the intertwining streets or Whitby. I skipped the horror shop of Dracula.

    Like

  3. Janice Wald says:

    Hi,
    I am from New York! I was born in the Bronx, raised in Bayside, Queens. Now I am in California.
    I met you on Jason Cushman’s blog at his Meet and Greet. You indicated you are a new blogger, so I came over. Congratulations on recently starting your blog. Maybe you can check out my blog if you need a blogging tip or two. That’s what I write about. I help new bloggers. Like Jason, I also have Meet and Greets, two a month.
    Here is a link to my About page, so you can read more about my blog and what it can do for you.
    http://mostlyblogging.com/about/
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

